I ended up getting a little behind in posting, and in cooking. But …

On Tuesday we had recipe #4: Chicken Adobo. Nick was nervous at first because he doesn’t love adobo sauce (the kind that comes in the can with chipotle peppers), but once I explained that in this case it just means “marinade”, and that this version is a Fillipino style, he warmed up to it. The recipe in the book differs slightly from the one online; in the book version, the chicken isn’t marinated. You simply brown the chicken and then pour the sauce to soak in while it cooks. Once I browned the chicken (about 4 minutes per side) I poured the sauce in the skillet and flipped the chicken in it to coat, then put it in a 400F oven for 30 minutes, flipping halfway through. Once finished, I removed the chicken from the pan, put the pan over medium heat, added about a tablespoon of cornstarch (accidentally directly to the pan rather than mixing with water first, but vigorous whisking kept it from getting lumpy) and stirred until thickened. With the sauce poured over the chicken and accompanying yellow rice, the meal was delicious. Nick named it his favorite from the cookbook so far!

Chicken Adobo

Chicken Adobo: the halved recipe made 2 servings

I forgot when meal planning that Wednesday night we were having McDonalds. This may not seem like a big deal to most of you, but there are no McDonalds on the island, and it was being imported in for us by a friend that had just been home. So instead of having the Spiced Pork Chops, we had cheeseburgers, fries, and nuggets. Don’t judge. We’ll be having the pork chops for dinner on Saturday.

I did manage to make recipe #5 (Peanut Butter Cookies with Blackberry Jam) on Wednesday, though. I made my own butter substitute by refrigerating coconut oil until it hardened. Of course this basically just made coconut oil margarine, so the cookies spread a bit more during baking than I would like. They also went from under-baked to burnt around the edges in 30 seconds, so that was a little weird. Even so, they are pretty good, especially with the homemade mango jelly I substituted in for the blackberry jam. I think next time I may play with substituting honey for sugar and putting mashed banana on top, since a peanut butter, honey, and banana sandwich is my favorite.

Peanut Butter and Mango Jelly Cookies

Peanut Butter and Mango Jelly Cookies: the halved recipe made 9 cookies

Last night I got to recipe #6: Caramelized Onion, Chicken, and Grapefruit Salad. It was amazing; there were so many strong, unique flavors that worked well together. For a milder flavor in the dressing I did a 50/50 split of grapeseed oil to olive oil (instead of straight olive oil), and used lime juice instead of lemon. I’m not sure where to find a rotisserie chicken, so I roasted two chicken breasts in the oven (coated in EVOO, salt, and pepper) at 350F for about 30 minutes, flipping halfway through. To quote Nick, “With most meals you have a very artful way of blending and mixing flavors in a way to make me the most culinarily satisfied husbands in the world. Tonight you transcended that with your masterful meal. There was no blending, no mixing of flavors. Every bite brought new layers of intrigue that accented each previous bite in a new way. Brava, my dear. You are and forever will be unsurpassed.” Big ups to Giada for making my husband think I’m a genius, yo.

Caramelized Onion, Chicken, and Grapefruit Salad

Caramelized Onion, Chicken, and Grapefruit Salad: the halved recipe made 2 large salads (but I did use a full recipe of dressing)

