The Whole-Grain Spaghetti with Brussels Sprouts and Mushrooms was a major hit last night, instantly earning “make this now!” status. The recipe was easy to tailor to our tastes and available ingredients. I had planned on making my own crème fraiche, but I’ll be honest: I completely forgot. Instead, I used a half-cup of cream and it turned out great. Rather than toasting the nuts separately, I just chopped them up and toasted them in the pan while the mushrooms, onions, garlic and Brussels sprouts were sautéing. I also salted the Brussels sprouts when I added them to the pan. I didn’t use whole-grain spaghetti; I used “normal” penne rigate. Finally, balsamic vinegar (about 1/8 – 1/4cup) was substituted in for lemon juice.

Penne Rigate with Brussels Sprouts and Mushrooms

Penne Rigate with Brussels Sprouts and Mushrooms: made 5 servings

After we have a meal, I’ve started marking the pages in the cookbook so that I can have an at-a-glance reminder of what my favorites were. Pink=new favorite. Make again soon. Yellow=good, and repeatable. Can be made again. Orange=eh. Probably will not make again. So far the cookbook is orange-free.

