With everything that’s been happening in our lives, I’ve kind of falling off of the blogging wagon. I’ve absolutely fallen off the trying-to-accomplish-a-thing wagon. But it’s time to brush my shoulders off and power through.

One of my favorite things in life is food (eating, cooking, smelling, thinking about … the list goes on). So it should come as no surprise that the final portion of my list hits right in my sweet spot – the kitchen.

In the Kitchen

Nick and I both love to cook. We often say that we fell in love in the kitchen. Even though I’m decent in the kitchen, there is always more that I want to learn and try.

21. Finish Top Chef University. Nick bought me an online subscription to Top Chef University before we left home, and I have done exactly half of one class. With my love of cooking and learning new techniques, it really was the perfect gift. I just need to make the time to finish it up (especially since it will expire soon).

22. Learn to make croissants from scratch. I love croissants. Plain, chocolate, whatever. The flaky pastry is one of the best in my opinion. The dough used to make croissants is a little tricky, especially in this heat with all of the folding in of butter. I’d like to become a croissant expert.

23. Make a perfect soufflé.  Soufflé intimidates me. Nick makes a fantastic savory soufflé, and I’d like to become the resident dessert soufflé expert in our home. I just feel like it’s such an impressive dessert to serve.

24. Host a successful multi-course dinner party, and get the timing right. We have friends over for dinner semi-regularly, but any time the menu goes beyond a main dish and side, I start to feel a little overwhelmed. I’d like to host a dinner party including a starter, main dish and side(s), and dessert.

25 – 30. Commit 5 recipes/meals to memory. I’m getting better at remembering recipes, but I still often have to check back to the original version to make sure I’m getting it right. I’d like to have at least five meals I can prepare from scratch, without having to look anything up. This will be especially helpful if the grocery store doesn’t have everything that I need for a meal I’ve planned; with recipes memorized, I will be able to simply access the old memory bank and do a quick swap-out.

And one to grow on. Cook my way through a cookbook. I love this idea. I followed the Julie/Julia Project blog before it was a book (and subsequent movie), and loved the French Laundry at Home blog. As a cookbook hoarder, I think it would be a good lesson for me however it turns out. I’m expecting either A. Don’t buy a cookbook when you don’t like 3/4 of the recipes or B. Use more cookbooks! You love the recipes! I’m trying to narrow down the cookbook to use, and as I only have a limited supply with me, it won’t be too hard of a decision. At first I thought I would do the Feed Zone Cookbook, since I need to focus on food designed for training, but since I need to readjust my consumption based on the fact that I can’t currently run (more on that in another post. Le sigh), I’m not so sure that’s the best choice. I’m kid of between Weeknights with Giada and Jamie’s Food Revolution. I’ll keep you updated on what I decide.

Time to get on it! Only a few months to go.

