What I learned the first time trying to eat clean-ish was that I needed to be ready with snacks to meet my cravings head on. Especially in the first week when the body is crying for sugar and salt and everything naughty. In order to be ready to curb my sugar cravings, I whipped up some delicious fauxkies (faux cookies. May or may not be a legitimate word, but I feel wrong calling these cookies). I made two different sets based off of recipes that I had Pinned.

Cookie dough bites

Raw Cookie Dough Bites are a go-to for me. I make these even when I’m not eating clean. They really do taste like you’re eating raw cookie dough, but are safe because there’s no raw eggs in them. I make them fairly similar to the original recipe, which you can find linked below, with some swap outs that keep them clean and, let’s be honest, allow me to avoid the grocery store.

Raw Cookie Dough Bites

  • 2/3 cup raw almonds
  • 2/3 cup raw walnuts
  • 2/3 cup quick cooking oats
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 cup local honey
  • 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup raisins
Raw cookie dough bite ingredients

Imagine there’s cinnamon there …

Put all ingredients, except for raisins, in food processor and blend. You’re looking for everything to be well incorporated. This may cause the “dough” to form a ball.

Ingredients in bowl

If the dough forms a ball, spread it out a bit in the food processor. Sprinkle with raisins and pulse to chop them up a bit/incorporate into the dough.

Put the dough into a freezable container and place in freezer for 15 – 30 minutes. The dough is a lot easier to handle if its thoroughly chilled.

Chilled

Once chilled, remove from freezer and form into small – maybe pecan sized – balls. You should have somewhere between 20 – 24 balls.

At this point, you could either just leave them as balls, or flatten with a fork for a more cookie-ish eating experience. If you are going to flatten, spray the back of the fork with a small amount of cooking spray. Otherwise, you’ll end up with a bunch of dough stuck on the back of your fork.

If you don’t eat them all in one sitting, refrigerate.

(adapted from here)

This was the first time I had made the Raw Cookie Dough Babies, and I really didn’t follow the recipe. At all. It called for 80g/scant 2/3 cup of pitted dates, but the box I had was 120g, and it seemed silly to save 4 dates. Also, I discovered that they really weren’t sticky enough to form cookies with that amount. So I used the whole damn box. Nick brought me home some cocoa powder from Grenada, so instead of chocolate chips, I used it. And unsweetened coconut? Why not. So, if you would like to try the original recipe, I highly recommend following the link found below, because this is a total, yet yummy, bastardization.

Raw Cookie Dough Babies

  • 120g pitted dates
  • 2 tbsp organic cocoa
  • 1/4 cup pecans
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened coconut flakes
  • 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • tiny pinch of salt (can be omitted)
Date Cookie Ingredients

Place all in food processor and blend well until incorporated.

In food processor

Put the dough into a freezable container and place in freezer for 15 – 30 minutes. The dough is a lot easier to handle if its thoroughly chilled.

Chill the dough

Once chilled, remove from freezer and form into small – maybe pecan sized – balls. You should have somewhere between 10 – 12 balls.

At this point, you could either just leave them as balls, or flatten with a fork for a more cookie-ish eating experience. If you are going to flatten, spray the back of the fork with a small amount of cooking spray. Otherwise, you’ll end up with a bunch of dough stuck on the back of your fork.

If you don’t eat them all in one sitting, refrigerate.

(roughly adapted from here)

I’m still working on my salty snacks, so I’ll bring you those later.

